The Council for Nail Disorders offers a grant program to support research and best clinical practice in the field of nail disorders.


Ralph & Melissa Daniel Young Physician Nail Merit Award

The award is meant to encourage a Dermatologist or Podiatrist who has demonstrated scholarship and initiative in the study of people with disorders of the nails to further pursue a career related to nail disease. The award is presented at the annual meeting of the Council for Nail Disorders.



  1. Eligible candidates for the award should have completed a dermatology or podiatry residency program within the past four years,
  2. Board certification in their specialty,
  3. Past publications and/or meeting presentations which demonstrate support of the mission of the Council for Nail Disorders.

The call for 2021 Nail Merit Award Candidates will be issued in July 2020.


Donate to this award fund>>


2020 Winner will be announced on March 19, 2020, at the 24th Annual Meeting of the CND in Denver CO


2019 Winner

 Thomas Knackstedt, MD

Thomas J. Knackstedt, MD

Cleveland Clinic Department of Dermatology

 *Dr. Knackstedt has generously gifted his $1000 award back to the Council for Nail Disorders and its endeavors.

Scher/Baran Award

The Council for Nail Disorders is pleased to announce it will present the Richard Scher / Robert Baran Resident Award for the best oral presentation by a resident or medical student at the annual meeting of the Council for Nail Disorders. The paper presented will receive the Scher / Baran Award in the amount of $1,000. 

For more information, click here.

CND Mentoring Award

To help develop young leaders with investigative interest and expertise in nails, CND has created a mentorship program with established investigators [clinicians/ researchers/ academicians].

The intent is to foster mentoring relationships to encourage young investigators and clinicians (medical and podiatry students, residents, post doctoral fellows, and junior faculty) to acquire academic or investigative skills that will advance their careers as leaders in nail research.


Click herefor the 2020 Mentoring Award Guidelines and Application form.

Past Award Winners
powered by MemberClicks